Lover’s Bite: The Finale

Sheena
5 min readAug 3, 2021

When I woke up, it was still dark and I felt like I had fire in my veins. My head was full of chaos. I looked to the side of the bed where Shivan had been, but she was gone. What is that noise? I thought. It sounded like a scratching noise but I couldn’t tell where it was coming from. I sat up and walked into the hallway. I realized what I was hearing was a cockroach crawling on the wall next to the door. I could hear everything. Shivan didn’t tell me super senses were a part of the deal, but I guess that makes sense.

I walked into the bathroom and looked in the mirror. I almost didn’t recognize myself. My normally dry, lackluster hair was replaced with coils that looked unbelievably well-moisturized. My skin was completely blemish-free. I was only a little paler than I had been so I figured I would be able to walk among the living undetected. My arms were muscular and strong. I’d swear my shoulders were broader and a six-pack had emerged where my concave stomach once was. Looking at my stomach, I realized I was starving. And I smelled blood. I followed the scent into the kitchen. On the table were two packs of blood and a note from Shivan:

I thought you’d be hungry when you woke up. These are from a blood bank a few blocks over. One of the workers there is a friend of mine. Go there, mention

--

--